Follow Us:

Latest News

10th April 2014

Bremont honours GFI HKFC Tens Player of the Tournament

Henry Seniloli receives a Bremont watch from Anson Bailey after the Fijian scrumhalf was named Player of the Tournament at this year’s GFI HKFC Tens.

Fiji Sevens scrumhalf Henry Seniloli was awarded a Bremont watch worth an estimated HK$35,000 after being named Player of the Tournament at this year’s GFI HKFC Tens, where he helped steer the star-studded BGC Dragons to victory.

The 24-year-old scrumhalf has played for Fiji on the HSBC Sevens World Series this year, but was not picked for the Hong Kong Sevens, so was available for Tana Umaga’s international squad, who regained the Tens trophy they first won in 2012.

England Sevens flyhalf Christian Lewis-Pratt, 23, also won a Bremont watch after his brilliant late score for 2013 champions in the Plate final was named Try of the Tournament, although his team eventually lost 19-17 to Borneo Eagles.

Anson Bailey of Bremont, the Official Timekeeper of the tournament, presented the watches to Seniloli and Lewis-Pratt.

Now Sports, Hong Kong’s leading pay-TV broadcaster, broadcasted live coverage of the tournament on both days and produced a post-tournament highlights show.

The GFI HKFC Tens is sanctioned by the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union (HKRFU) and is held on the Wednesday and Thursday before the world-famous Cathay Pacific / HSBC Hong Kong Sevens. Hong Kong Football Club has hosted the annual event since it was first staged in 1986 to celebrate the club’s 100th anniversary.

GFI Group, a leading provider of brokerage services and trading support products, has title sponsored the event since 2006. Other sponsors this year include UBS (Gold Sponsors), Swire Properties, Mourant Ozannes, RR Donnelly and Allied World Assurance Company (Silver Sponsors), Markel International, Eurofins and East Hotel (Bronze Sponsors), Carlsberg (Official Beer) and Tsunami Sport (Official Apparel).

Since GFI came on board as title sponsor, the tournament has attracted rugby legends Joe Roff and Toutai Kefu (both 2006), Jonah Lomu (2007), Brian Lima (2008), Bobby Skinstad (2009), Waisale Serevi (2010), George Gregan and Christian Cullen (2011), Mils Muliaina (2012) and Justin Marshall (2011 and 2012), the winning captain in 2012.

< back